Daily Devotions: RETURN TO ME

Joel 2:12 NIV 
“Even now,” declares the Lord, “return to Me with all your heart, with fasting and weeping and mourning.

If one were to look at the kind of fasting that took place in the Old Testament, it would be easy to assume that the reason for fasting is to gain forgiveness. In the book of Joel, the Israelites had wandered far from God, and their sinfulness had resulted in famine and pestilence in the land. Through the prophet Joel, God called them to repentance, ordering them to declare a sacrificial fast that along with mourning and weeping, would show God the sincerity of their repentance. In return, the prophet said, perhaps God would, “turn and have pity and leave behind a blessing.”

As we walk with God, there are times that we feel far from Him or disconnected. Joel’s words resonate with us who live in a context of grace – “return to me with all your heart.” There are times we realize that, though we have chosen to follow Jesus, the flame of our love for him has grown cold. It is during these times we can return to God with our whole heart, put aside the distractions of the world and focus solely on loving Him. Your time spent in prayer each day of the fast can result in a new richness, a rewarding connection with the Father. No matter where you are on your journey with Jesus, you can always take a step closer towards Him.

As we begin this time of prayer and fasting, let’s turn our hearts toward God.  Make a commitment to seek God daily. Pray that your love for Christ will be increased and your passion for Him will be reignited over the next 21 days.

 

Source: awake21.org

3 responses to this post.

  1. We just did this devotion in our CARE group tonight… great devotional, and we all prayed that God would light a fire in the heart of churches that are fasting all across the country. Amen!

    Reply

  2. Posted by krista king on January 10, 2010 at 9:14 PM

    I am so excited about this Daniel fast! Expecting great things to come from this. I pray that every individual that is participating would be blessed as they draw close to Him!

    Oh, and I have to add that it was so neat to see two of the young boys in our care group (both 6 yrs.) choosing to fast from sugary treats and desserts for the 21 days. I explained to my son later, after group, that God wants to draw close to him too and not just the parents, and that it is a decision that he needs to make for himself; we were not gonna make him. I then further explained the purpose of a fast, and he was then excited to participate.

    Reply

  3. Posted by Kimberly Walker on January 11, 2011 at 9:50 AM

    I’m not sure if this blog is currently active, however I believe the Lord has led me here.
    My heart is not aflame for Him right now…at least not in the way I have known it before. I do believe the Lord is doing a new thing in my heart. HE is faithful…and it seems that all it takes is me simply glancing in His direction and He is right there for me with open arms again, and yet again. I sense He is guiding my footsteps. By faith I believe that my heart is becoming tender because of Him and that I hear His still small voice because He has enabled me to.
    As the new year rolled I began thinking about the Daniel fast – for some odd reason =) As I followed Him, He lead me to Awake21.org — and then here. Oh how good and faithful is the Lord God Almighty! I was just absolutely amazed to find the Lord was speaking to thousands of people around the world about greeting the new year with fasting and prayer. I am home-bound due to illness and physical injury. The Internet is a very real tool for me by which I can connect withe the “Church”. I am so excited to join the family of God in this fast.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

