Daily Devotions: TUNE IN

John 10:27  
“My sheep hear My voice, and I know them, and they follow Me.”

Have you ever been searching for a radio station only to be frustrated by finding static rather than music? You then focus to fine tune the dial again, and suddenly you hear a clear signal. The fact is, the signal always existed on the airwaves; the only difference is that now you have adjusted your tuner to the right frequency.

In our hectic lives, there are so many signals bombarding our senses that it can become difficult to distinguish God’s voice from the deafening “static noise” of life. Fasting enables us to tune out the world’s distractions and tune in to God. As we fast, we deny our flesh. When we deny our flesh, we become more in tune to the Holy Spirit and can hear God’s voice more clearly. If you truly listen for God’s voice, you will hear it. When you hear it, it will build faith within you.

If you desire to tune out the static of life and really tune into the voice of God, come to Him first and foremost with ears that are willing to listen and a heart that is ready to obey what he says. (Psalm 34:18, Isaiah 66:2) The more we practice being in His presence, the clearer and more recognizable His voice becomes.

In this time of fasting, what is your mind tuned to? What distractions do you need to remove so that you can focus on God? Prepare your heart to hear the voice of God, and ask God to help you remove distractions that keep you from focusing on Him and hearing Him clearly.

 

Source: awake21.org

4 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by krista king on January 11, 2010 at 9:44 AM

    WOW! How interesting todays devotional is. Just this morning on my morning commute I had to turn the radio off because it was interferring with what I was trying to fix my heart and mind on…I hardly ever have my car radio off. Granted I was listening to uplifting music and commentary, but it occurred to me that how often we just let the outside world dictate what we focus on, and that I needed to take charge of my focus and not mindlessly walk through my day.

    How awesome that God was already nudging me this morning in the same direction as todays devotional!

    “Greater things are yet to come…”

    Reply

  2. Posted by Rachel Koch on January 11, 2010 at 8:03 PM

    This was a great devotion today!!.. We are fasting T.V…….which is a huge distraction….and it was amazing how much i got to focus on GOD today…and listen to worship music….and a great family time!!!

    Reply

    • Posted by Dan King on January 11, 2010 at 8:18 PM

      That’s awesome Rachel! I know that this was a big thing that we talked about in our CARE group with you guys yesterday. We will continue to pray for you guys in this! Enjoy drawing closer to Him!!!

      Reply

  3. Posted by Kimberly Walker on January 11, 2011 at 10:16 AM

    Distraction seemed to be what the Lord was speaking to me about all last year. So followed His leading last January and removed several of those those things that played a huge roll in leaving me no quiet time (energy, focus, even desire) to spend with Him. Unfortunately, as quickly as I removed those “busy” things out of my life, I found more things to do to fill their place. In December last year I financially committed to complete this last semester of school — I’m taking a full-load of on-line classes. I know from experience how much distraction this can be for me. I am praying that I will be sensitive to the Holy Spirit’s call to my heart throughout the day. I am praying that I will take pause (several times a day) and “tune-in, quiet my heart and mind, and listen for Him. As I focus my attention on Him, I know my Lord…He is faithful. He will meet me in that place where I need Him most – He will meet me in my heart.
    Thank you for this days devotional. It was right on time and perfect for my situation – imagine that 😉

    Reply

Leave a Reply

